Wednesday, December 3, 2008

Dobbs, Moore earn All-MWC honors

Devin Moore Ward Dobbs

Wyoming senior team captains Ward Dobbs and Devin Moore earned first team All-Mountain West Conference honors on Wednesday in balloting by the conference’s nine head coaches and media representatives from each school.

The two seniors were the only first team selections for the Cowboys. Junior defensive tackle John Fletcher earned second team honors for the second consecutive year.

Four other Cowboys were named honorable mention All-MWC honorees. Senior offensive linemen Tim Bond and Kyle Howard each and junior defensive end Mitch Unrein and sophomore free safety Chris ProsinskI were named to the honorable mention team.

Dobbs selection to the first team was the third consecutive season he received recognition on the All-Mountain West team. He was a second team selection as a sophomore in 2006, and was honorable mention as a junior in 2007. Dobbs led Wyoming in tackles in 2008 with 101 total tackles. He averaged 8.4 tackles per game to rank No. 50 in the nation. He also tied for the team lead in interceptions with three. He returned two of those interceptions for touchdowns -- one against Tennessee and one versus Colorado State. The Fairbanks, Alaska native concluded his career with 343 career tackles to rank No. 5 in school history.

Moore led the Mountain West Conference in rushing with 1,301 yards. He also was the league leader in all-purpose yardage with 2,008 all-purpose yards in 2008. For the Indianapolis, Ind., native it was the first All-Conference recognition of his career. He ranked No. 17 in the NCAA this season in average rushing yards per game (108.4), and he ranked No. 8 in all-purpose yardage, averaging 167.3 yards per game. Moore ended his Wyoming career as the Cowboys’ all-time leading rusher with 2,963 career rushing yards, breaking the previous record of Ryan Christopherson (2,906 rushing yards from 1991-94). His 2,008 all-purpose yards set a new Wyoming single-season record, breaking the old mark of 1,837 all-purpose yards by former Wyoming All-America wide receiver Marcus Harris in 1996.

Fletcher achieved second team honors for the second straight year. He had 4.5 sacks on the season, 6.5 tackles for losses and 54 total tackles. Fletcher tied for No. 8 in the MWC in sacks this season. He moved into 10th place on the Wyoming career sack list in 2008. The junior from Erie, Colo., will enter his senior season in 2009 with 17.0 total sacks.

For Howard and Unrein, it marked the second consecutive season they received honorable mention honors. Bond and Prosinski earned the honor for the first time in their Wyoming careers.
All-Mountain West Football First-Team

QB Brian Johnson Sr. Utah
WR Austin Collie Jr. BYU
WR Ryan Wolfe* Jr. UNLV
RB Gartrell Johnson III Sr. Colorado State
RB Devin Moore Sr. Wyoming
TE Dennis Pitta*# Jr. BYU
OL Ray Feinga* Sr. BYU
OL Dallas Reynolds* Sr. BYU
OL Blake Schlueter Sr. TCU
OL Zane Beadles Jr. Utah
OL Robert Conley Sr. Utah
PK Louie Sakoda Sr. Utah
PR/KR Jeremy Kerley So. TCU
DL Jake Paulson Sr. Air Force
DL Jan Jorgensen* Jr. BYU
DL Jerry Hughes# Jr. TCU
DL Paul Kruger So. Utah
LB Robert Henson Sr. TCU
LB Jason Phillips* Sr. TCU
LB Ward Dobbs Sr. Wyoming
DB Glover Quin Sr. New Mexico
DB Brice McCain Sr. Utah
DB Stephen Hodge Sr. TCU
DB Sean Smith Jr. Utah
P Louie Sakoda* Sr. Utah
*--Two-Time First-Team Selection
#--Unanimous Selection
All-Mountain West Football Second-Team

QB Max Hall Jr. BYU
WR Rashaun Greer Jr. Colorado State
WR Freddie Brown Sr. Utah
RB Harvey Unga So. BYU
RB Rodney Ferguson Sr. New Mexico
TE Kory Sperry Sr. Colorado State
OL Nick Charles Jr. Air Force
OL Travis Bright Sr. BYU
OL Shelley Smith Jr. Colorado State
OL Erik Cook Jr. New Mexico
OL Marshall Newhouse Jr. TCU
PK Ryan Harrison Sr. Air Force
PR/KR Ian Clark Jr. New Mexico
DL Cody Moore Sr. TCU
DL Matt Panfil Sr. TCU
DL Koa Misi Jr. Utah
DL John Fletcher Jr. Wyoming
LB David Nixon Sr. BYU
LB Jason Beauchamp Jr. UNLV
LB Stevenson Sylvester Jr. Utah
DB Chris Thomas Jr. Air Force
DB DeAndre Wright Sr. New Mexico
DB Steven Coleman Sr. TCU
DB Rafael Priest Jr. TCU
P Anthony Hartz Jr. Colorado State
Honorable Mention
Air Force: Hunter Altman; Sr., LB, Chris Campbell, Jr., OL; Ken Lamendola, So., LB; Andrew Pipes, Sr., C; Reggie Rembert; So.; KR.
BYU: C.J. Santiago, Sr., P; David Tafuna, Sr., DB.
Colorado State: Ricky Brewer, So., LB; Mychal Sisson, Fr., LB; Jason Smith, Sr., PK; Tim Walter, Jr., C.
New Mexico: Zach Arnett, Sr., LB; Herbert Felder, Sr., LB.
San Diego State: Russell Allen, Sr., LB; Corey Boudreaux, Sr., DB; B.J. Williams, So., DE.
TCU: Aaron Brown; Sr., K; Marcus Cannon, So., OL; Andy Dalton, So., QB; Anson Kelton, Fr., P; Nick Sanders; Jr., CB; James Vess, Sr., NT; Jimmy Young, So., WR.
UNLV: Johan Asiata, Sr., OL; Casey Flair, Sr., WR, Frank Summers, Sr., RB; Malo Tuamua; So., DL.
Utah: Greg Newman, Sr., DL; David Reed, Jr., KR; Zane Taylor, So., OL; Mike Wright; Jr., LB.
Wyoming: Tim Bond; Sr., C; Kyle Howard, Sr., OL; Chris Prosinski, So., DB; Mitch Unrein, Jr., DL.

No comments: