Monday, July 21, 2008

Three Cowboys picked to all preseason team

From left, Devin Moore, John Fletcher and Ward Dobbs were named to the preseason All-MWC team

LAS VEGAS -- Three Wyoming Cowboys were named to the Mountain West Conference 2008 preseason all-conference team Monday as selected by members of the league's media.

Named to the team from UW were senior linebacker Ward Dobbs, junior defensive tackle John Fletcher and senior Devin Moore as a kick return specialist.

Dobbs earned Honorable Mention All-MWC honors in 2007 after leading the Cowboys with 98 tackles. He was a Second Team All-Conference selection following the 2006 season.

Fletcher earned Second Team All-MWC honors following last season after ranking No. 11 in the nation in sacks, with 10.5. He has also been named to the 2008 Outland Trophy Watch List.

Not only was Moore the Cowboys' leading rusher (965 yards) in 2007, but he also totaled 271 yards in kick returns and had one kick-off return for a touchdown.

Max Hall (BYU) was named Preseason MWC Offensive Player of the Year, Jason Phillips (TCU) was selected Preseason MWC Defensive Player of the Year, Louie Sakoda (Utah) was chosen Preseason MWC Special Teams Player of the Year and Braylon Broughton (TCU) was tabbed Preseason MWC Freshman of the Year.

The 2008 preseason team is loaded with experience, featuring 18 players that were all-Conference selections in 2007, including six first-team honorees. Fifteen seniors, eight juniors and two sophomores comprise the 25-member squad.
All-MWC team
WR -- Austin Collie (BYU), Ryan Wolfe (UNLV).
OL -- Nick Charles (Air Force), Ray Feinga (BYU), Dallas Reynolds (BYU), Blake Schlueter (TCU), Robert Conley (Utah).
TE -- Dennis Pitta (BYU).
QB -- Max Hall (BYU).
RB -- Harvey Unga (BYU), Rodney Ferguson (New Mexico).
DL -- Jan Jorgensen (BYU), Paul Kruger (Utah), John Fletcher (UW), Ryan Kemp (Air Force).
LB -- Ward Dobbs (UW), Russell Allen (San Diego State), Jason Phillips (TCU).
DB -- Brice McCain (Utah), DeAndre Wright (New Mexico), Stephen Hodge (TCU), Robert Johnson (Utah).
P -- Louie Sakoda (Utah).
K -- Louie Sakoda (Utah).
Returner -- Devin Moore (UW).
Offensive Player of the Year: -- Max Hall.
Defensive Player of the Year -- Jason Phillips.
Specialist Player of the Year -- Louie Sakoda.
Freshman of the Year -- Braylon Broughton, TCU

No comments: